my rso – Greatest Hits for Contemporary Orchestra

myRSO Foto von der Box

Our journey takes us all the way from Ludwig van Beethoven’s “Pastorale” and Antonin Dvorak’s Ninth (“From the New World”), via Modest Mussorgsky’s “Pictures at an Exhibition”, Leos Janacek’s “Sinfonietta”, Maurice Ravel’s “Bolero”, George Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue”, Sergei Prokofiev’s “Peter and the Wolf”, Richard Strauss’ “Till Eulenspiegel”, Arnold Schönberg’s “Verklärte Nacht” and Claude Debussy’s “La Mer”, to our final destination in the present with music by Leonard Bernstein, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Olivier Messiaen, Sofia Gubaidulina, Friedrich Cerha, György Kurtag, John Adams, Georg Friedrich Haas, Olga Neuwirth, Gerd Kühr and many more.

Conductors: Leonard Bernstein, Michael Gielen, Friedrich Cerha, Peter Eötvös, Sylvain Cambreling, Manfred Honeck, David Oistrach and many more, as well as all Principal Conductors of the orchestra’s

history: Milan Horvat, Lothar Zagrosek, Pinchas Steinberg, Dennis Russell Davies, Bertrand de Billy and Cornelius Meister.

All recordings are taken from the ORF-Archive, most of them are live-recordings of concerts. An entire world of sound opens up to armchair travellers in the form of finely dramatized stories, presented in the accompanying, bilingual booklets. These musical adventures come to life as our team of moderators, Christian Scheib, head of the Vienna RSO, and Elke Tschaikner of Radio Österreich 1 tell the tales through an imaginative script.

Performed by Vienna RSO

Presented by Ö1 Radio Österreich 1

Produced by ORF – Austrian Broadcasting

Sales Price: € 232,-

15 % reduction for Friends of the RSO and Ö1 Club members: € 197,20

Order now: / +43 1 501 70 373 (Mon-Fri 8.30 am. – 19 pm.)